This publication is made possible with funds from the County of Orange (New York), the Orange County Planning Department, the Orange County Water Authority, the Hudson Valley Greenway, and the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy.

The Design Manual is based on the work of two smart growth planning initiatives commissioned by the Orange County Planning Department. This work is summarized in the reports: Illustrating Smart Growth for SE Orange County and Managing Growth in Central Orange County New York, led by Robert Lane, Senior Fellow for Urban Design at Regional Plan Association, David Kooris, Vice President and Connecticut Director for Regional Plan Association, and David Church, Orange County Commissioner of Planning. Funding and support were provided by the Orange County Planning Department and the Lincoln institute of Land Policy.

The publishers would like to thank the many elected officials, agency staff and citizen stakeholders who supported this effort. This includes Edward A. Diana, County Executive, Susan Metzger, PhD, Chair, Orange County Planning Board, Marcia Jacobowitz, Esq., Chair, Orange County Water Authority and David Church, AICP, Commissioner of Planning as well as all of the officials and citizens of the towns of Crawford, Goshen, Wallkill and Wawayanda, the City of Middletown, the Village of Goshen and the County of Orange, New York, who provided guidance and advice.

The publishers are particularly grateful to John Nolon for his ongoing participation in these initiatives in Orange County and whose book Gaining Ground provided much of the content for the implementation sections of this manual.

The publishers would also like to acknowledge the contributions of John Clarke, Dutchess County Department of Planning and principal author of the guidebook Greenway Connections on which several of the design guideline studies are based. The publishers also acknowledge Joel Russell, who participated in the SE Orange County Planning initiative and who provided valuable advice.



Regional Plan Association
Orange County Planning Department
Lincoln Institute of Land Policy


Regional Plan Association

Robert Lane, Senior Fellow for Urban Design, Project Director
David Kooris, Vice President and Connecticut Director
Jeff Ferzoco, Creative and Technology Director
Jennifer Cox, Senior Planner


Urban Design Support

Barton Ross
Stephanie Weyer


Precedent Research

Naomi Galtz
Dawn Miller


Graphic Design Support

Madeleine Lopeman


Workshop Support

Patrick Condon, James Taylor Chair in Landscape and Livable Environments, University of British Columbia
John Nolon, Pace University School of Law Harry Dodson, Principal, Dodson Associates Peter Flinker, Dodson Associates
Graham Trelstad, Vice president, AKRF
John Clarke, Dutchess County Department of Planning
Colin Cathcart, Kiss + Cathcart Architects


Orange County Planning Department

David Church, AICP, Commissioner
Kelly Dobbins, Senior Planner
Megan Tennermann, Planner
Eenika Cruz, Water Authority


Lincoln Institute of Land Policy

Armando Carbonell, Senior Fellow and Chairman